Major Club Trophies

Eddie Illingworth Trophy

This Perpetual Trophy was struck to recognize the Club’s Most Valuable Player.

After playing baseball as a Pitcher & Shortstop at Preston Technical School, Eddie’s first seasons were played in the 2’s at Westgarth in the early 1950’s. Following successful Claxton Shield campaigns representing Victoria in 1960, 61, 62, 63 & 65, Eddie returned to his roots at W.B.C in the 1975 season & started a remarkable run of club success playing in a Premiership in his first season back. Eddie Illingworth is a 5 – time Westgarth Baseball Club Premiership Player in the 1’s, a two time 1st nine Batting Trophy winner and one of only 4 W.B.C. players to have polled Association MVP votes in the 1sts over 3 decades. In 2002 Eddie was named in the V.B.A. “Team of the Century” to match his “all Australian” selection of 1962. As Westgarth’s most decorated baseballer the Club MVP trophy for the 1st nine is named the Eddie Illingworth Trophy. In 2010 the Club MVP award was tied.



2010 Tie between Kile Rogers and Brock Pawley


Gough Family Trophy

This Perpetual Award was struck to recognize the Most Valuable Club Person.

This trophy was struck to recognise the unparalleled contribution made by the entire Gough family to the W.B.C. It recognizes the combined passion, energy, commitment and drive of Joyce, Rodney, Leanne, Meree & Don. They have jointly provided over 225 years of combined service and that they to continue willingly do so for the benefit of all members is nothing short of outstanding!

Former Winners

Brock Pawley, Gary Pawley & Richelle Pawley



Graeme Bartlett Trophy

This Perpetual Trophy was struck to recognize the Most Valuable Player in the 2nds.

A former W.B.C. Junior and Junior Coach, “Barty’s” first Victorian Baseball Association Representative Selection honors go way back to 1982 and he has won numerous Association MVP awards across five decades playing for Westgarth. He was the first Westgarth Player of the modern era to win the Association MVP in the “ones” and fittingly he did it in the 1985 Premiership year. Graeme has won Premierships as a player in every senior W.B.C. team he has represented (including 5 in the 1sts !). Graeme holds the Club Record (10) for the most premierships played and holds the club pitching record for striking out 9 hitters in a 2nds game against Northcote in the ‘70’s.



2010 Errol Whinnen



Gary Pawley Trophy

This Perpetual Trophy was struck to recognize the Most Valuable Player in the 3rds.

GP’s W.B.C. career included 6 years in the juniors; Under 13’s, Under 15’s & Under 17’s progressing through “D” grade in the north zone through the 2nds before ultimately playing in multiple WBC 1st “9” premierships as starting catcher. Gary has won multiple batting trophies & holds the Club’s “Games played” record – over 700 games.



2011 Gary McKeown



Richard Legge Rising Star Award

This Perpetual Trophy was struck to recognize an emerging talent playing in any of the Club’s senior sides

Dick debuted in 1949 for the Epiphany Baseball Club “playing as Westgarth”. He played in the early seasons as an outfielder before becoming a steady 2nd baseman & a placement hitter who regularly batted clean-up. He went onto play over 400 games including winning 4 premierships from 5 attempts as a player in the ’50 & ‘60’s.
Dick developed many juniors during a seven year stint (1968-’75) coaching WBC’s U13’s, U15’s & U17’s . He also managed the WBC 3rds during the late 70’s and ‘80’s introducing many players to their 1st games of senior “ball”. After retiring as a player Dick added another 5 premierships as the clubs 3rd base coach. Dick Legge is remembered as a Junior Coach and Senior 3rd base coach always willing to provide balanced guidance to players of any age or level. As one of Westgarth’s most devoted clubmen he has been a contributor to growing the talent base of the club and the trophy for the most talented emerging Junior is the Richard Legge Rising Star award.

Former Winners

Darby Brown
Brandon Bird
Errol Whinnen



Roy Bartlett Batting Trophy

This Perpetual Trophy has been struck to recognize the most prolific hitter in the club – the 1st 9 batting average winner.

Roy Bartlett was a right handed “punch hitter” capable of swatting home runs. He played in WBC’s 1st ever Premiership and he is remembered for delivering the match winning home run in the premiership of the late 40’s. Whilst playing stats are no longer available for the clubs 1st 20 seasons and individual trophies were not awarded Roy Bartlett was the Left Fielder who batted at 2 or 3 in Westgarth’s premiership teams in 1940’s and 1950’s. One of Westgarth’s most visible and active statesman (including oversight on the Club finances as Treasurer for 57 years); the trophy for the 1st 9 batting average winner is the Roy Bartlett Batting Trophy.

Former Winners

Eddie Illingworth (3)
Andrew Wildsmith (10)
Troy Hellingman (3)
Cam McHarg (6)



Brownley Medal

This Perpetual Award has been struck to recognize the club member or supporter making the most significant & substantial contribution to WBC’s junior program during the year.

Dianne, Aaron, Luke & Doug Brownley have collectively had the most significant impact on the club’s Junior program in Westgarth’s history. Their contribution to both the WBC Juniors and the Association Juniors has played out now over 20 seasons. Doug has been WBC’s Junior delegate to the Association, a Junior Association President and the Junior co-ordinator at WBC including; the co-ordination of; recruitment, practice, coaching, diamond marking, umpiring and parents liaison. Diane has been a long term junior & more recently senior scorer and following Doug & Dianne’s footsteps, both Aaron and have Luke managed WBC Junior teams over multiple seasons. In 2010, Doug lead the introduction of WBC’s T-Ball program with the Hocking Stuart sponsored WBC “come ‘n’ try days”. The substantial and sustained contribution of the Brownley family to the continuation and development of Junior baseball at WBC, the Diamond Valley Baseball Association, the Melbourne Winter Baseball League, and the Victorian Baseball League is recognized via Westgarth Baseball Clubs’s Brownley Medal.



2010 David Medlin